Let them eat cake!

12 Sep
Cast of Marie-Antoinette

Cast of Marie-Antoinette

I have always been facinated with the lifes of the French during the reign of Louis XVI. But most of all, I just was enamoured with their attire, they way the women dressed, and carried on, their demeanor, etc..  I guess you can say I desired the life of Marie-Antoinette’s dedication to a life of fabulousness and outrageousness. I feel the movie depiction was spot on.  My favorite line, is let them eat cake! She new then what we know now, eat a piece of cake and all your troubles will fade away. (of course, the french were not too proud of her, she was also called the queen of debt!)  It leads me to believe that maybe I was a dutchess or a lady in waiting with the desires of opulent things.

A mixer of sorts.

Marie-Antoinette having her cake and eating it too!

 Then again, she was decapitated and well, hence the phrase, “Off with her head”. I salute you Marie-Anotoinette, your style, your love of shoes, and your love of cake!

3 Responses to “Let them eat cake!”

  1. Christy September 13, 2008 at 8:18 pm #

    I always wanted to dress in one of those period costumes for Halloween.

  2. Tia S September 14, 2008 at 11:53 pm #

    I was Bride of Frankenstein one year and I put flour in my hair and I looked more like a woman on her way to the guillotine (sic) than someone who had been brought back from the dead. Ah, good times. LOL!

  3. Tia S September 26, 2008 at 5:44 pm #

    update yo!

Leave a Reply

